Jeanette Tetrault, MD, staff physician at CMU and Associate Professor of Medicine At Yale University School of Medicine has been received the Macy Foundation Faculty Scholars Award. The award recognizes the work of innovative educators in medicine and nursing.

Macy Faculty Scholars are selected for having demonstrated innovation in health professions education and because they show promise as future leaders of educational change in their institution and nationally. Dr. Tetrault’s proposed educational reform project focuses on inter-professional education in the area of Addiction Medicine and it exemplifies the type of change needed to better prepare today’s health professionals to meet the public’s health care needs.

Dr. Tetrault is one of five faculty leaders from across the nation who were selected for the award. She will also become part of a national network of Scholars who receive advice from an advisory committee and participate in an annual meeting for the program.

Dr. Tetrault’s scholarly work focuses on the care of patients with addiction and the medical conditions associated with substance use, mainly HIV and Hepatitis C. She is the program director for the Yale Addiction Medicine Fellowship Program and serves on the Board of Directors for The Addiction Medicine Foundation and the Addiction Medicine Fellowship Directors Association.